top of page


On a blazing hot and humid day, Gary Grund withstood a valiant charge by Neal Byrne to win the 2020 Peddie Club Championship title.

After a lackluster front nine, Grund had a 1 up lead after winning hole 9 with a bogey. However, that would be the final bogey for Grund until hole 17 when he was already dormie. Grund parred 10, 11, birdied 12 and parred 13 and 14 to go 3 up with 4 to play. However, Byrne then birdied 15 and matched Grund's birdie on 16 to stay alive. Byrne nearly made it 3 in a row from 15 feet on 17, but won with a par to send the match to the home hole. On hole 18, Grund got up and down from the left fringe for par to tie the hole and secure the win.

The win was the third overall for Grund and his first since 2017.

In Flight A, Kalyan Gopalakrishnan defeated Mike Real for the title. And Flight B went to Bob Cowan who bested Jim Tuohy.

Congratulations to all the winners!

187 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page